2021 Spring Diplomacy Luncheon: Media Matters

March 18, 2021
Noon (CST)

Join WorldChicago for our 2021 Spring Diplomacy Luncheon: Media Matters on Thursday, March 18 at Noon (CST). This hour-long fundraising event will foster a diverse and international conversation about the current landscape of journalism and how it intersects with diplomacy. In simpler terms, has news media been diminished, and if so, has that lead to the diminishment of global relations? It is a big question to answer but we hope that a global perspective from these respected journalists will lend insight and dialogue about how we share the stories of global citizenship.

Panelists for the event will include: Hal Dardick, Investigative Reporter at the Chicago Tribune, Veronika Munk, Editor-in-Chief at Telex in Hungary, Iqra Sarafraz, Pakistani reporter and a WorldChicago alumni, and many more.

Our panel discussion will be moderated by Steve Bynum, Senior Producer of WBEZ's Reset and past WorldChicago board member.

WorldChicago will also be awarding the Gold Medallion Award to journalist and former WBEZ Worldview host, Jerome McDonnell for his immeasurable contribution to diplomacy and international relations.

WorldChicago first established the annual Gold Medallion Award in 1982. Its purpose was both to celebrate the organization's 30th anniversary and to draw attention to the importance of international exchange by honoring a distinguished person who represents the best of Chicago here and abroad.

Register here.

If you would like to know more about becoming a sponsor for this event you can view our Sponsorship Kit here and you can register as a sponsor here.

Questions? Please reach out to Morgan Lyn, Marketing & Development Manager at mlyn@worldchicago.org.


The 2021 Spring Diplomacy Luncheon: Media Matters is sponsored by WBEZ 91.5 and Louis P. Vitullo.

Gold Medallion Award

Gold Medallion Award Honorees are selected for outstanding leadership in their chosen fields: culture, the arts, education, science, business, government, or civics. Additional criteria for selection include national and international distinction, identification with Chicago, unusual or significant contribution to world culture from the greater Chicago area, and contribution to Chicago's ability to enhance its reputation by the nomination.

The following are distinguished recipients of the Gold Medallion Award:

1982 – Sir George Solti 1991 – Mr. Dean L. Buntrock
1983 – Mr. Saul Bellow 1992 – Mr. Thomas R. Donovan
1984 – Ms. Ardis Krainik 1993 – Ms. Maria Tallchief
1985 – Mr. Bruce J. Graham 1994 – Mr. Robert L. Crandall
1986 – Hon. Daniel j. Terra 1995 – Mr. Michael R. Quinlan
1987 – Mr. Stanley Freehling 1999 – Hon. George H. Ryan
1987 – Ms. Ruth Page 2000 – Senator Richard J. Durbin
1987 – Mrs. Mary Ward Wolkonsky 2001 – Mr. Neal Ball
1988 – Mr. Thomas H. Miner 2002 – United Airlines
1990 – Mr. Bill Kurtis 2003 – Mr. Ramsey Lewis

Newsletter Sign Up

Send us your email address and we will keep you updated on all the latest news at World Chicago.